Asians in Tech recognised in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours 2018

Asians in Tech in New Years Honours List 2018

Asians in Tech in New Years Honours List 2018. Clockwise: Vin Murria, Mehool Sanghrajka and Suranga Chandratillake.

A number of Asians in the technology sector were recognised in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours List 2018: awards included OBEs for Suranga Chandratillake, formerly the US Chief Technology Officer of Autonomy and now General Partner at venture capital firm Balderton Capital; Vinodka (Vin) Murria who was honoured for services to the UK Digital Economy and advancing women in the software sector and Ron Khalifa, Vice Chairman of Worldpay, who was recognised for services to Financial Services and Technology. There were MBEs for Mubeen Yunus Patel of HM Revenue and Customs in Leicestershire for services to the Public Sector Digital Transformation Programme and for Dr Mehool Sanghrajka for services to the Jain Faith and Education.

In total 1,123 people have received an award:

  • 981 candidates have been selected at BEM, MBE and OBE level: 318 at BEM, 452 at MBE and 211 at OBE
  • 70% of the recipients are people who have undertaken outstanding work in their communities either in a voluntary or paid capacity
  • 551 women are recognised in the List, representing 49% of the total
  • 9.2% of the successful candidates come from a BAME background
  • 5% of the successful candidates consider themselves to have a disability (under the Equality Act 2010)

Asians recognised in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours List 2018

Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire

Professor Pratibha Laxman GAI, Professor and Chair of Electron Microscopy, University of York. For services to Chemical Sciences and Technology. (York, North Yorkshire)

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

Ms Nuzhat SALEH, Assistant Director, Directorate of Legal Services, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to Policing. (Surrey)

Officers of the Order of the British Empire

Raja Mohammed ADIL Chairman, The Adil Group. For services to Business, Job Creation and charity. (London, NW6)

Jarnail Singh ATHWAL Founder and Managing Director, Premier Decorations Ltd. For services to Business and charity. (Datchet, Berkshire)

Professor Charanjit BOUNTRA Professor of Translational Medicine, University of Oxford. For services to Translational Medical Research. (Oxfordshire)

Suranga CHANDRATILLAKE FREng General Partner, Balderton Capital. For services to Engineering and Technology. (Cambridgeshire)

Ranjit Lal DHEER For services to Local Government and to charity. (London)

Dr Shabana Rounak HAQUE Head, Government Science and Engineering Profession Team, Government Office for Science. For services to Civil Service Science and the Engineering Profession. (London, SE10)

Rilesh Kumar JADEJA National Access to Work Delivery Manager, Department for Work and Pensions. For services to People with Disabilities. (London, HA2)

Rohinton (Ron) Minoo KALIFA Vice Chairman, Worldpay. For services to the Financial Services and Technology. (London, SW7)

Ms Aina KHAN For services to the Protection of Women and Children in Unregistered Marriages. (Cheshunt, Hertfordshire)

Ms Paromita KONAR-THAKKAR Deputy Director, Energy Economics and Analysis, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. For services to Energy Analysis. (London, NW8)

Dr Rajan MADHOK Trustee, Darlinda’s Charity for Renal Research. For services to Renal Research and Tackling Health Inequalities in Scotland. (Pollockshields, Glasgow)

Ms Vinodka MURRIA For services to the UK Digital Economy and advancing women in the software sector . (Weybridge, Surrey).

Jaswant, Mrs RAMEWAL Grade 6, Ministry of Defence. For services to Defence. (London)

Naymitkumar SHAH Manager, International Liaison Officer, National Crime Agency. For services to Law Enforcement and Diversity. (Abroad)

Nilufer, Mrs VON BISMARCK Head, Financial Institutions Group and Equity Capital Markets, Slaughter and May. For services to Financial Services. (London, W8)

Members of the Order of the British Empire

Dr Anwara ALI General Practitioner, The Spitalfields Practice, East London. For services to Community Healthcare. (London, E14)

Afrasiab ANWAR For services to Community Cohesion in Burnley. (Burnley, Lancashire)

Onkardeep Singh BHATIA For services to the community particularly Young People. (London, UB10)

Councillor Balwant Singh CHADHA Lately Councillor, North Lanarkshire Council. For services to Local Government and Community Cohesion in the West of Scotland. (Cumbernauld, Lanarkshire)

Bobby Gurbhej Singh DEV For services to Young People in Sheffield, South Yorkshire.
(Rotherham, South Yorkshire)

Ms Neelam FARZANA Co-founder and Managing Director, The Listening Service. For services to Mental Health in the Community. (London, HA2)

Shahina Baloch, Mrs JOHNSON For services to the Arts and Creative Industries in Swindon and Wiltshire. (Devizes, Wiltshire)

Mohammad Yaqub JOYA For services to the Army and the Muslim community in Northern Ireland. (Down)

Alexander KHAN Chief Executive Officer, Lifetime Training. For services to Apprenticeships. (Raglan, Monmouthshire)

Ms Sadi KHAN (SAJDAH MEHMOOD) For services to Cultural and Religious Training and voluntary service to Vulnerable Women. (Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire)

Sajda, Mrs MAJEED For services to the community in Burnley. (Burnley, Lancashire)

Atulkumar Bhogilal PATEL For services to Heritage and the community in the East Midlands. (Leicestershire)

Mubeen Yunus PATEL Administrative Officer, Personal Tax Operations, HM Revenue and Customs. For services to Public Sector Digital Transformation Programme. (Leicestershire)

Naeem Rabbani QURESHI For services to the community in Sparkbrook, Birmingham. (Birmingham, West Midlands)

Gurmit Singh RANDHAWA For services to Community Cohesion in the Vale of Glamorgan. (Barry, Vale of Glamorgan)

Dr Mehool Harshadray SANGHRAJKA For services to the Jain Faith and Education. (London, HA7)

Shyamal Kanti SENGUPTA For services to Interfaith Relations in Renfrewshire. (Giffnock, Renfrewshire)

Vikas Sagar SHAH Member, Industrial Development Advisory Board and Chief Executive Officer, Swiscot Group. For services to Business and the Economy. (Greater Manchester)

Ms Summera Naheed SHAHEEN Owner, The Diamond Studio. For services to Business and the community in Glasgow. (Newton Mearns, Renfrewshire)

Dr Rohit SHANKAR Consultant in Adult Developmental Psychiatry, Cornwall Partnership NHS Foundation Trust. For services to People with Learning Disabilities in Cornwall. (Truro, Cornwall)

Dr Sanjiv Kumar SHRIDHAR General Practitioner, Nantwich, Cheshire. For services to Primary Care. (Nantwich, Cheshire)

Dr Seema SRIVASTAVA Safety Programme and Falls Lead, North Bristol NHS Trust. For services to Improving Quality and Patient Safety. (Henleaze, Bristol)

Medallist of the Order of the British Empire

Kulbir Singh BRAR Community and Diversity Officer, Thames Valley Police. For services to Community Cohesion. (Windsor, Berkshire)

Ms Buldev Kaur Angela KANDOLA Founder, AWAAZ charity. For services to Vulnerable People with Mental Health Issues. (Carrington Point, Nottinghamshire)

Subhash Chander MAHAJAN For services to the community in Hounslow. (London, TW4)

Manju, Mrs RAJAWAT Higher Officer, Border Force, Home Office. For services to Border Security. (Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire)

Dr Suryadevara Yadu Porna Chandra Prasad RAO Lately Chair, Stoke on Trent Clinical Commissioning Group. For services to Health and Care. (Trentham, Staffordshire)

Asish Jaidev SONI For voluntary and charitable services to Homeless People in London.
(London, CR0)

Deviesh TANKARIA International Youth Chairman, Sathya Sai International Organisation. For voluntary service. (London, TW7)


Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *